MIAMI board




From two-time Super Bowl winning quarterback Ben Roethlisberger to Super Bowl winning head coach John Harbaugh, the Miami RedHawks have produced individual talents who have shined on the game's biggest stage. The RedHawk football program prides itself on challenging its student-athletes on all aspects of the game: physical, mental and spiritual.

Ben Roethlisberger shaped his extraordinary talent into Super Bowl-winning play during the Steelers' march to the 2005 Super Bowl. The Pro Bowl quarterback repeated his efforts in 2008 when Pittsburgh captured its second Super Bowl victory in four years.


NFL head coaches Sean Payton and John Harbaugh, who each have direct ties to the Miami Football program, recorded their names in the annals of Super Bowl history in 2010 and 2013, respectively. Payton led the New Orleans Saints to victory in Super Bowl XLIV while most recently Harbaugh guided the Baltimore Ravens to the NFL championship win.

Miami alum Tom Crabtree raised the Lombardi Trophy because he never quit on himself or his dreams. Signed by the Kansas City Chiefs as an undrafted free agent, Crabtree willed his way onto the team, even after being cut and signed to the practice squad. Signed by the Packers the next year, Crabtree started all 16 games for the eventual champs, catching an Aaron Rodgers TD pass in a first round playoff game against the Eagles and playing a pivotal role in the Packers' 31-25 defeat of the Pittsburgh Steelers in the championship game.

Miami alum Sherman Smith raised the Lombardi trophy proudly when the Seattle Seahawks were crowned 2014 Super Bowl winners. Smith played professionally in Seattle for eight years and was hired in 2010 as the team’s running back coach.